my Snark

Pop Culture . . . whatever

Suicide is not an answer . . .

Marie Osmond’s 18 year old son committed suicide. I’m so sad and cannot imagine the pain she must be experiencing. I hope she can speak with other parents who have gone through the worst tragedy a parent could ever experience.

Jen and I have discussed suicide in great detail and we completely disagree. I feel it’s a selfish act and she feels it’s more of a desperate act. I think everybody has had thoughts of ending their life at one time but most of us “snap out of it,” I cannot imagine pain so bad that I’d rather not exist. I’ve always had the attitude that ‘tomorrow is another day’ and if I survived this, whatever the incident, I could survive anything. There is also “God doesn’t give us more than we can handle” and other corny sayings that actually do make some sense and can “work if you work them.”

The pain left behind for the family never goes away. Guilt, anger, sadness and the pondering question of “what could I have done differently” will be with loved ones forever.

My deepest condolences for the Osmond family and the Koenig family this week. As Walter Koenig stated, if you need help, get it. People love you and there are medications and therapy that help people deal with issues that may seem unsolvable. I don’t know who I’m speaking to but I just hope these two suicides don’t spur more copycat deaths.

February 28, 2010 - Posted by | Reality TV |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

