my Snark

Pop Culture . . . whatever

“Dating in the Dark”

Why did I watch this show? No extended cable. Rerun on CSI and plain boredom.

Interesting premise. 6 singles meet and pair off. They spend time in the dark to “connect.” Then they see each other and decide if they want to go on with a friendship/relationship. I thought the guys would be the shallow ones but it turns out the shallow person was the best looking woman on there. Her “man,” who she totally sucked-face with, wasn’t a perfect 10. This guy was adorable. I couldn’t believe she was “disappointed” and left him standing on the balcony while she got in the car and drove away. She stated that she hates being judged by her looks. What a bitch. Seriously. Woman like that deserve to be alone or end up with douche bags that cheat on them. Obviously, she didn’t deserve Seth. If I was 20 years younger I’d take a go at him myself.

One couple connected and left together. They were boring.

The third couple was fun. The woman was kind of kooky looking but cute and giggly. The guy was dark (personality) and gorgeous. He had a sad life, if he was telling the truth, and he seems to have many emotional issues that this woman will probably not enjoy dealing with. It was still nice that they showed up for each other. He felt validated and she was thrilled to be with a guy so good looking (and I truly believe she liked his personality.)

Seth Cooperman

Seth Cooperman

When Love is Blind

NYC native Seth Cooperman dishes on ‘Dating in the Dark’ for a new reality series on ABC

BY Seth Cooperman

It’s a sweltering summer day in Los Angeles. I’m alone in a strange room, awkwardly sitting in a beanbag chair, waiting to meet a woman I’ve never seen before who may just be the love of my life.

After several minutes, the door to the room slowly opens. My heart racing, I quickly look up and I see nothing. Yes, she’s there, and no, I’m not blind. I just forgot to mention that the room is dark.

Very dark.

Pitch dark.

You-can’t-see-your-hand-in-front-of-your-face-even-after-being-in-there-for-an-hour dark.

Thus begins one of my adventures on the new ABC show, aptly named “Dating in the Dark.”

Maybe you’re asking, “What’s a good-looking boy from New York City doing in Los Angeles on a dating show? Can’t he meet a girl the old-fashioned way, like on JDate?”

If you asked that, you sound just like my mom. And my answer to you would be same as it is to her: Dating isn’t easy.

My eight years of dating in NYC are memorable, but for all the wrong reasons.

There was the first date at Grimaldi’s with the girl in an arm bandage because her pet bird had attacked her. The online date I met at Serendipity 3 who used her high school prom photo for her profile picture. The girl I had to meet at her upper West Side apartment because she barely left the house (she believed everyone stared at her because she was so hot and that made her uncomfortable).

The list goes on and on.

I decided to audition for the show because I obviously wasn’t meeting the right girls on my own. Everyone, including me, could easily dismiss a prospective romance based on a quick glance. Compared to that, dating someone in the dark seemed like a great option.

The show process started with an audition for producers where I detailed my dating life. After I passed that phase, I moved on to a very long personality test.

Yes, I drink alcohol. Yes, I believe in true love. No, I never thought of killing my family.

I passed again and I was accepted onto the show.

I soon learned that I not only get to date all the girls on the show, but that one girl in particular was chosen to be there specifically for me, based on my personality test and the advice of compatibility experts. How many times can you say you’ve walked into a bar knowing a girl there was specifically chosen for you? The show sounded awesome, at this point.

The week in the “Dating in the Dark” house was a whirlwind of “blind” dates and fun activities. Men and women were separated in different wings of the house and we only met the opposite sex on dates in the central dark room.

At first, we chose whomever we wanted to date. Then we had a mix of free-choice dates, and dates with our expertly matched partner.

I had my doubts, but I found I was choosing to meet the same girl the experts selected for me. And we didn’t need any light to have an awesome time. We cooked meals, drank wine, shared personal stories and even had a chance to golf. Well, putt. But we really got to know each other. And it surprised me how much more quickly I got to know all three girls in one week than anyone else I’d dated in that same amount of time.

If you want to know if I’m still dating my match, you’ll have to watch the show. But I will say that, if you get the chance to date someone’s personality before their looks, it can be a nerveracking but rewarding experience.

And it definitely beats dating bird-girl.

Seth Cooperman is an audio/visual designer and writer who lived in New York for eight years before recently moving to L.A. ABC’s “Dating in the Dark” begins Monday at 10.

July 21, 2009 - Posted by | Reality TV |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

