my Snark

Pop Culture . . . whatever

Jon Stewart rips Jim Cramer a new one!!

http://www.hulu.com/watch/62203/the-daily-show-with-jon-stewart-thu-mar-12-2009

Jon Stewart wasn’t a stand-up comic. He wasn’t reporting the “fake news” and he wasn’t interviewing a celebrity. No. Jon Stewart showed every TV journalist a sample of the kind of reporting that the people need to see. He spoke for many of us, in terms we understood,  and asked questions that had never been asked before.

Jim Cramer is a “TV personality” that tells us what stocks to buy. I don’t watch him but have seen him yelling as I pass by flipping channels. I prefer to take my financial advice from Suze Ormond, but that’s just me.

Anyhow, Jon Stewart was emphasizing the mistakes of CNBC and their “financial advice.” He showed clips of Mr. Cramer but also of other news and “expert opinions” on that channel. Jim Cramer began to criticize Jon on his show, and it began a war of the cable personalities for a week or two.

Finally, Jim Cramer, and I give him credit for having guts, made an appearance on “The Daily Show.” It wasn’t so much an appearance as it was a massacre. Jon Stewart had clips of Mr. Cramer from 2005 discussing how to cheat the SEC and other deceitful things. I’ll be honest, I don’t understand it all. I do know that people, cough, Republicans, cough, did trust Jim Cramer and did loose a lot of money listening to his tips and advice.

Jon Stewart finally said, in a calm and informative way (as he was this entire interview”, “It’s not a fucking game.” Ok, Comedy Central bleeped it out (too bad). Jon is asking this man why he gave people advice that he knew was wrong. The man just kept apologizing and I believe his testicles were deep inside his body.

Will Jim Cramer still have a show? I think not.

Will Jon Stewart still have a show?? Yes. Comedy Central better be paying him well because after this interview Jon will have offers from major news sources. Oh, wait, maybe not. I forgot that “major news sources’ only care about Anna Nichole Smith and tend to ignore the issues that really matter to the American people.

Bravo, Jon Stewart!

March 14, 2009 - Posted by | Politics |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

